Lonely

Yes, I have been lonely,

In a crowded room,

When faces were bright and smiling,

I have felt the gloom,

Of secrets, crushing on my heart.

Yes, I have been lonely,

When texts, to and fro,

Were exchanged from smart handsets,

I have seen the harrow,

Digging out sorrow, in messages.

Yes, I have been lonely,

Alone with memories inside,

When the silent echoes of the past,

Shouted the peace aside,

To leave a familiar melancholy.

Yes, I have been lonely,

Searching for your whisper,

Listening for your prompting,

Waiting- sometimes whimpering,

I know that you know.

Loosely inspired by Lone Wolf 

2 thoughts on “Lonely

  1. @Abuga says:

    Hi Myra. The words in this post couldn’t be truer for me! They speak to my reality in more ways than you can imagine.

    It’s Edwin, by the way. We met in Tao last year and talked for a bit. Later, you visited my blog (thanks!). Here’s the comment you left in the blog’s ‘About’ page – https://goo.gl/xM1ExF.

    Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. I’m just coming around to logging into my blog and looking around. Unlike you, it’s (clearly) been a while since I wrote.

    Anyway, as you suggested in your comment, perhaps we could chat on email. I’d like that. My address is edwinabuga@gmail.com. Hope to hear from you soon.

    Happy blogging.

    Like

  2. wildwhistles says:

    Hey, this is beautiful!! wow how you play with contrasting thoughts yet weaving them into one thing is amazing. I am even more humbled that my poem elicited these thoughts. Thank you sana you are the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

