I thank you

I thank you for the mundane things,

The cock that crows, the bird that sings,

In mornings that days begin;

The food that fills, the thirst that’s quenched,

The rain that has me completely drenched,

E’n in places I’ve never been.

 

I thank you for a perfect day,

The brief repose, pain kept at bay,

The joys that come with it;

The quick, glad light of friendly eyes,

The burning tear that sanctifies,

The promise – eternal rest inherit.

 

I thank you for the grace to be,

Close beside those needing me,

The gleam of hope in loss;

The nudge to my soul, when on to err,

The spirit teaching me to hear,

For strength to bear my cross.

Leave a Reply

