Knowing the future (Part 1)

Someone known as Tony Robbins is reported as having said that the quality of ones life is directly proportionate to the amount of uncertainty that one can deal with comfortably. Now I don’t know whether this is a rumor or he actually said that. I do not even know who he is. But I do know that in those words, we can glean some wisdom.

We spend a lot of time not knowing things. We are comfortable not knowing the name of a stranger, our credit card number off head, the capital city of Kazakhstan and many other things. We are comfortable with these things perhaps because we know that the answers exist. We can find them even if it means spending time on Google.

Ironically, there are many things that we really want to know, like if we are making the right choice or if the guy we are crushing on likes us too, or if the job we have been hoping for will finally be ours or if our relationships will lead to marriage. Yet, there are many things that we cannot simply know.

What is funnier though is how we obsess about them. We spend a lot of time thinking about the possibilities that could happen. There is a word for it – worry.

I found myself with a little time to spare today. As I was checking out my Facebook timeline, I noticed this thing where people share a link to what status updates they will make in 2026. After following the links,  I came up with this image:

Capture

So those are the kinds of updates I will be making in 2026? Huh! Apparently, I will have no sense of privacy. Also, I will have many people really interested in my personal life, careful to share my personal updates and you know, give insight into my personal affairs. Who is Ryan Gosling? I know, I wondered the same too. I searched on Google. He is this guy:tumblr_mvyuo6pDqh1r9fviko1_500 He is 35 now, with a wife and 1 kid as per Wikipedia. And I found that image and assumed that since he will have chased me so much in 2026, whoever made it, must have had me in mind. And while we are at it, would someone tell me how I am to meet with this guy? Since he is an actor, I think it is safe to assume that I will drop my books and he will help me pick them up and viola! he will be smitten and begin the chase. What will happen to his wife? Will I not be the same age as his child? No matter.

Being the Kenyan that I am, I had to try again (this is the equivalent of pressing every item on the counter before picking only one). Then, came this:

Capture2

Unfortunately, Pandacat (I think this is the name of the site) does not provide the time for the update. But, logic suggests that the first update will be made after the second. I will probably dump Robert Downey Jnr. and then finally cave in (in the words of Lisa Smith) to the advances of Ryan Gosling.  What kind of person is he anyway? The kind who will chase me knowing that I will be with Roba (I think I can call him that seeing as I will be dating him)? And what is the deal with Lisa Smith and Brad Holmes? They must be my biggest fans. And no Lisa, I cannot marry you. I refuse to believe that I will be supporting same sex marriages then. Oh, Wikipedia says that this, is Roba:

robert-downey-jr-140721

He is the father of three children, and is in his second marriage.

Anyway, the people making the application must have known that some people would be literal because under both predictions, they pointed out that the meaning of the status update is that whatever life I am to have in future, it will not be boring. I was then reminded to quickly share with my friends on my Facebook because they need to know. This could mean the difference between life and death for them.

Whereas this seems ridiculous, it is the same thing that we do in assuming that we know the future. I know that we are not often bold enough to state out loud that this is what we are doing, but that does not diminish the implications.

Last week, I watched my niece look for her doll. She opened one drawer and moved around a few things. Where in the world is it? Nothing. She asked me, I told her to search some more because inanimate objects do not grow legs and walk away. ‘But the doll is gone’ she insisted. She decided to forget it after searching for about fifteen seconds.

But then it dawned on me…

I have often done the same, mistaking accessibility for actuality. Functionally, because the doll was not there, she need not have acted as if it were not real. Often times, I have pretended that something does not exist because it is not accessible. I have engaged impatience so dearly that it was my only reality.

But is that not okay? Aren’t we allowed to be impatient sometimes as we wait for that spouse who won’t show up? Or when life will not play by our script?

My niece assumed that the doll does not exist even though she knows that she owns one. She has shown it off to her friends before. But, because it was not right there when she wanted it, because there were a few things keeping it out of the vicinity inhibiting its immediate usefulness, she ignored it.

Do you ever do this? Acting as if something does not deserve our time because it is not easy? Because it is not a click away, it might as well be false. Have our web-warped brains burned up whatever little patience we had for simple tasks? And if so, are there any implications? For example, in the Christian life?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

