Theater and Christianity: To take up the script or not?

So last week I went to these acting auditions in Rongai, on entering the room, I was paralyzed by this wave of fear. Those auditioning us were not really scary; in fact, I think I noticed one of them trying to strike a balance between a happy expression and a serious one. She was trying to make me feel comfortable, or at least I thought so and appreciated it immensely.

The question was simply put ‘do anything’. Simple though, it was not an easy task… but it was a test nonetheless. One I had to take up. This was the moment of reckoning. This was the decision maker, whether you qualify or not was dependent on it – an interview of sorts.  You see, for most acting auditions, rarely do they ask for your CV at first, they want to see talent and skill and then perhaps, the rest will follow. In the end, I did my piece and answered the follow-up questions then left, to go and wait for the response as did everyone else. You would be surprised at how many we were.

The questions

As I left, I began to really think about the interview. At the top of my head were questions as to whether I would qualify or not. Were they convinced that I can act? Did I match up to the expectations? What if I did qualify, what then? What if I went and found out that the script was against all that I believe in? Then it hit me, my situation is not unique to me. On following up with these questions, several responses may come up, one may decide to completely give up theater, another may embrace everything, another may carefully select what they engage in, and only few may actually grow to have an influence on the industry.

So, if you are a Christian, wondering whether you can consider a career in acting, you may find the answers to these questions helpful.

  • Will the artistic work (movie, program, screenplay etc) I choose to be part of bring glory to God?

Because many actors struggle to find roles and especially when they are just beginning their career, they often end up picking whatever comes along. For the non-believer, this decision requires little more than the effect on one’s career and income. We on the other hand, cannot afford to be callous. We need to consider whether it glorifies God or rebellion against Him.

1 Corinthians 10:31 ‘So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God’

  • What kind of lifestyle am I exposing myself to?

There is a large amount of influences such as drugs, alcohol, and immoral behavior in the entertainment industry. As we are eager to make the ‘big break’ it is important to consider the warning in 1Corinthians 15:33 ‘Do not be misled, bad company corrupts good character.

  • What impact do I have on those consuming the form of art when they see me as a professing Christian taking part in it?

It is not rocket Science to see that when non-believers, for instance, see Christians in those art forms they sense the hypocrisy and may be given a cause to blaspheme the name of God. (Romans 2:24) Consider also those young in faith. Whenever a young Christian justifies their ungodliness by your actions the cause of Christ suffers. Jesus has something to say concerning that.

Matthew 18:6 ‘but whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a great millstone fastened around his neck and to be drowned in the depth of the sea.’

Ultimately, the decision to take up theater is not an easy one and must be prayerfully considered. Involve people you know and can trust, preferably those older than you. Ask for advice and consider it all before making your choice prayerfully.

2 thoughts on “Theater and Christianity: To take up the script or not?

  1. titomarita says:

    I’d say let them know your standards, then take up the script. If you left it and went for an office job, there are challenges too. Only as an actor more people will witness your success n failures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

